1. General Notes

(a) Legionella can be found in natural aqueous environment, such as lakes, rivers, ponds, soil and man-made water systems (e.g. fresh water cooling towers), and can grow well in warm water (20 to 45 degrees Celsius). Proper design, operation and maintenance of fresh water cooling towers could prevent proliferation of legionella.

(b) It is the basic responsibility of owners of fresh water cooling towers to properly operate and maintain their cooling towers and, for this purpose, they should arrange regular inspections, timely maintenance and periodic testing of the water quality of their cooling towers in accordance with the Code of Practice for Fresh Water Cooling Towers issued by EMSD.

(c) Water testing for legionella concentration (in terms of total legionella count) is a means to check effectiveness of water treatment to prevent its proliferation in the cooling tower. It is a normal practice in operation and maintenance for tower owners to obtain feedback from testing results to see how effective is the maintenance and take necessary remedial action so as to upkeep the system and water quality at normal operational conditions.

(d) Cooling towers with water samples found with total legionella count at or above the upper threshold of 1,000 cfu/ml shall undergo emergency decontamination. The test result also hints to major failure of water treatment facilities and/or operation requiring urgent rectification by the owners of the cooling towers.

(e) Separately, as legionella may exist in aqueous environments and elevated concentrations may occur sporadically in cooling towers, it is not uncommon to detect legionella in the range between 10 cfu/ml (note 1) and 1,000 cfu/ml. Such cases will more often reflect intermittent inadequate vigilance of tower owners in carrying out routine maintenance and water treatment programmes and works. Like other normal operation and maintenance works, test results will provide a corrective feedback signal to tower owners to review and adjust the operation and maintenance to the system so that the water quality can be restored to normal by minimizing its bacterial contents.

Note: 1. Total legionella count less than 10 cfu/ml in cooling towers is regarded as legionella undetected according to the Code of Practice for Fresh Water Cooling Towers

2. Regulatory Actions taken by EMSD

EMSD will carry out random inspections of fresh water cooling towers and collect water samples for bacterial testings for the purpose of monitoring if the owners of cooling towers have properly discharged their responsibility to properly operate and maintain the cooling towers to ensure that the quality of the cooling tower water is at a satisfactory level. EMSD will take the following regulatory actions according to the water sample test results -

(a) If cooling tower water samples are found with total legionella count at or above the upper threshold of 1,000cfu/ml, EMSD will issue a nuisance notice under the Public Health and Municipal Services Ordinance, Cap. 132 (PHMSO) to the owner of the cooling tower requiring the owner to carry out emergency decontamination as per the Code of Practice for Fresh Water Cooling Towers issued by EMSD. Failure to comply with the requirements as stipulated in the nuisance notice will be guilty of an offence.

(b) If cooling tower water samples are found with total legionella count in the range of  between 10 to 1,000 cfu/ml, EMSD will issue an advisory letter to ask the owner of the cooling tower to take actions to restore the water quality to normal by minimizing its bacterial contents through on-line disinfection as per the Code of Practice for Fresh Water Cooling Towers issued by EMSD.

3. Statistics of Water Sample Tests of Fresh Water Cooling Towers in 2018

i. Routine surveillance inspections by EMSD

Total
(from Jan up to Nov 2018)
No. of water samples from fresh water cooling towers tested by EMSD
(No. of buildings involved)
880
  (794)
No. of water samples with total legionella count at or above the upper threshold (i.e. 1,000 cfu/ml) with nuisance notices issued 14
No. of water samples detected with total legionella count between 10 and 1,000 cfu/ml 168

ii. Inspections other than routine surveillance inspections (To assist epidemiological investigation of the Centre for Health Protection to collect water samples for testing)

Total
(from Jan up to Nov 2018)
No. of water samples from fresh water cooling towers tested.
(No. of buildings involved)
0
 (0)
No. of water samples with total legionella count at or above the upper threshold (i.e. 1,000 cfu/ml) with nuisance notices issued 0
No. of water samples detected with total legionella count between 10 and 1,000 cfu/ml 0

Please click here for building locations of fresh water cooling towers detected with total legionella count ≥ 1,000cfu/ml with nuisance notices issued in the past 3 months period, if any. [PDF format (182KB)] (Updated on 7 December 2018).

Please click here for previous annual statistics since 2011 [PDF format (66KB)] (Updated on 8 January 2018).

1. 一般事项

(a)退伍军人杆菌存在于自然水源环境(例如湖泊、河流、池塘及泥土等)及人工用水系统(例如淡水冷却塔),最适合在摄氏20至45度的温水中生长。妥善设计、操作及维修淡水冷却塔可防止退伍军人杆菌滋生。

(b)妥善操作及维修淡水冷却塔,是冷却塔拥有人的基本责任,并为此他们应按照机电工程署发出的 《淡水冷却塔实务守则 》为淡水冷却塔安排定期检查、适时维修及定期水质检测。

(c)透过检测冷却塔水样本中的退伍军人杆菌含量(按退伍军人杆菌总浓度计算),我们可查证冷却塔的水处理方法能否有效防止退伍军人杆菌在冷却塔内滋生。在冷却塔的操作及维修方面,冷却塔拥有人的惯常做法是根据水质检测结果判断维修工作的成效,从而采取必要的补救行动,确保冷却塔系统操作及水质状况正常。

(d)如冷却塔水样本的退伍军人杆菌总浓度验出等于或超过其上限值 (即每毫升1,000菌落 ),须进行紧急消毒。这种情况亦显示水处理设施及 /或冷却塔运作出现严重故障,需要冷却塔拥有人立即采取纠正行动。

(e)另一方面,由于退伍军人杆菌可存活于水源环境中,而冷却塔内的退伍军人杆菌含量偶然亦会处于较高水平,因此,在冷却塔发现的退伍军人杆菌总浓度,有时会介乎每毫升10菌落(注1)至每毫升1,000菌落之间。这些情况通常都是冷却塔拥有人对日常维修及水处理的工作偶有松懈所致。与其他一般操作及维修工程一样,退伍军人杆菌测试结果可提醒冷却塔拥有人作出纠正,检讨及改善冷却塔系统的运作及维修,把含菌量减至最低,令水质回复正常。

注:1. 根据 《淡水冷却塔实务守则 》,如冷却塔的退伍军人杆菌总浓度少于每毫升10菌落,则可视作没有退伍军人杆菌。

2. 机电工程署的规管行动

机电工程署抽样巡查淡水冷却塔,收集水样本进行细菌检测,以监察冷却塔拥有人有否恰当地履行责任,妥善操作及维修冷却塔,确保冷却塔的水质处于满意水平。机电工程署会根据水样本的检测结果,采取以下规管行动 :

(a)如冷却塔水样本的退伍军人杆菌总浓度等于或超过其上限值(即每毫升1,000菌落),机电工程署会根据《公众卫生及市政条例》(第132章)向冷却塔拥有人发出「妨扰事故通知」,要求拥有人按照机电工程署发出的 《淡水冷却塔实务守则》,为冷却塔进行紧急消毒。不遵从「妨扰事故通知」的规定即属犯罪。

(b)如冷却塔水样本的退伍军人杆菌总浓度处于每毫升10至1,000菌落的范围,机电工程署会向冷却塔拥有人发出劝诫信,敦促拥有人采取行动,按照机电工程署发出的《淡水冷却塔实务守则》载列的在线消毒方法,把冷却塔的细菌含量减至最低,令水质回复正常。

3. 淡水冷却塔水样本检测统计数字 - 2018 年

i. 机电署例行监察巡查

总数
( 2018 年 1 月至 11 月)
机电工程署检测的淡水冷却塔水样本数目
(涉及的建筑物数量)
880
  (794)
退伍军人杆菌总浓度等于或超过其上限值 (即每毫升1,000菌落)及已发出「妨扰事故通知」的水样本数目 14
退伍军人杆菌总浓度介乎每毫升10菌落至每毫升1,000菌落之间的水样本数目 168

ii. 例行监察巡查以外的其他检查
(协助卫生防护中心流行病学调查抽取水样本进行化验 )

总数
( 2018 年 1 月至 11月)
检测的淡水冷却塔水样本数目
(涉及的建筑物数量)
0
 (0)
退伍军人杆菌总浓度等于或超过其上限值 (即每毫升1,000菌落)及已发出「妨扰事故通知」的水样本数目 0
退伍军人杆菌总浓度介乎每毫升10菌落至每毫升1,000菌落之间的水样本数目 0

点击这里查看过去三个月期间因应验出退伍军人杆菌总浓度等于或超过每毫升1,000菌落及已发出「妨扰事故通知」 (如有)的淡水冷却塔所在建筑物地点 [PDF 格式 (182KB)] ( 2018 年 12 月 7 日更新)。

点击这里查看由2011年起过往每年的统计数字 [PDF 格式 (66KB)] ( 2018 年 1 月 8 日更新)。