How to apply - Registering as a gas contractor

Purpose of Registration

The purpose of the registration scheme is to ensure that only competent gas contractors, who employ registered gas installers and appropriate material resources, undertake gas installation work for enhancing the safety of gas users and members of the public.

Who Should Register

Any gas contractor who wants to commence or carry on business as a gas contractor from 1 April 1992 should be registered with the Government.

From that date onwards, no person shall employ a contractor other than a registered gas contractor for gas installation work.

Gas installation work undertaken by a gas contractor is associated with gas service pipes and controls, and all downstream gas fittings including gas appliances, as defined in the Gas Safety (Registration of Gas Installers and Gas Contractors) Regulations, Cap. 51. There are eight classes of work and these are listed in the appendix.

How to Apply

Applications for registration as Registered Gas Contractors / Application for replacement of lost/destroyed Registered Gas Contractor Certificate can be made to the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD). The procedures for application are as follows:

  1. Obtain an application form:
    Form 2 - New Application for Registration as a Gas Contractor or Form RGC - Lost/Destroyed from the EMSD Registration and Permit Office, Ground Floor, 3 Kai Shing Street, Kowloon, Hong Kong.
  2. Complete the application form carefully according to the instruction sheets attached to the form.
  3. Submit the completed application form together with an application fee of $5,110 (for each new application) or $150 (for each replacement application) to the EMSD Registration and Permit Office.

Application fees are not refundable. Therefore, an applicant should not submit more than one application form at any one time.

An Inspector on behalf of the Gas Authority will contact the applicant in order to examine he submitted application, with particular reference to business resources deployed and scope of gas installation work previously undertaken.

A Certificate of Registration will be issued to the successful applicant. This certificate will remain valid until the holder surrenders it to EMSD for reasons stated in the Gas Safety (Registration of Gas Installers and Gas Contractors) Regulations, Cap. 51.

Enquiries

Enquiries can be directed to the Gas Standards Office, EMSD, 3 Kai Shing Street, Kowloon, Hong Kong (Tel. 1823 Citizen's Easy Link).

*Note:
This is not a legal document and is prepared for general information only. Copies of the Gas Safety Ordinance Cap. 51 and the Gas Safety (Registration of Gas Installers and Gas Contractors) Regulations, Cap 51 can be purchased by following method, please click here.

怎样申请-注册成为气体工程承办商

注册目的

注册计划的目的是确保只有聘用注册气体装置技工,及采用适当物质资源的胜任气体工程承办商,才可进行气体装置工程,从而促进气体用户和市民的安全。

注册对象

任何气体工程承办商如欲在 1992 年 4 月 1 月后开始或继续经营气体工程承办商的业务,均须向政府注册。

由该日起,任何人不得雇用注册承办商以外的人进行气体装置工程。

气体注册承办商进行的气体装置工程是指《气体安全(气体装置技工及气体工程承办商注册)规例》(第 51 章)所界定与供气分喉和控制器件,以及所有下游气体配件(包括气体用具)有关的装置工程。气体装置工程共分为八个类别,详情载于附录。

怎样申请

如欲注册为气体工程承办商,可向机电工程署提出申请。注册程序如下:

  1. 向香港九龙启成街 3 号地下机电工程署注册及许可证办事处索取申请表格:表格二「新申请注册为气体工程承办商」 或 注册气体工程承办商证书遗失/损毁补领表格
  2. 按照附于申请表格的说明书指示,正确填写申请表格。
  3. 把填妥的申请表格,连同申请费$5,110元(按每份新申请计算)或$150元(按每份补领申请计算),递交机电工程署注册及许可证办事处。

不论申请是否获准,申请费用概不发还。因此,申请人不应在同一时间递交超过一份申请表格。

一名督察会代表气体安全监督与申请人接触,以核实与其申请有关的事项,特别是该商号的营业资源及以往曾承办的气体装置工程范围。

获批准注册的申请人,会获登记册证明书乙张。此证明书会一直有效,直至持证人按《气体安全(气体装置技工及气体工程承办商注册)规例》(第 51 章)所述理由,将证明书交回机电工程署为止。

查询

如有疑问,请向香港九龙启成街 3 号机电工程署气体标准事务处查询(电话号码:1823 政府热线)。

*备注:
本文并非法律文件,只供一般参考之用。《气体安全条例》(第 51 章)及《气体安全(气体装置技工及气体工程承办商注册)规例》(第 51 章)两本例书,购买方法,请按此