Electricity Ordinance, Chapter 406

Electrical Products (Safety) Regulation

Guidelines on Voluntary Recall of Electrical Products Not Complying with the Safety Requirements

  1. INTRODUCTION
    1. The Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD) is charged with the enforcement duties under the Electrical Products (Safety) Regulation (EPSR) of the Electricity Ordinance (EO), Chapter 406. The enforcement objective is to detect electrical products not complying with the prescribed safety requirements and to stop them from being further supplied in order to protect consumers against safety risks associated with such products.
    2. Voluntary Recall of Electrical Products Our inspectors carry out tests on a home appliance Safety inspection of the communal electrical installations in a private building Safety inspection of the communal electrical installations in a private building Where the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services (DEMS) considers that an electrical product does not meet the prescribed safety requirements, he may prohibit its use and/or supply under Section 25 of the EO. Section 11 of the EPSR further empowers DEMS to serve on the supplier of the electrical product concerned a written notice requiring the supplier to notify the purchasers about the hazardous defects in the product, accept a return of the product and refund the purchasers any sum paid for the product subject that a receipt for the product is surrendered. A person who is served with such a mandatory recall notice and fails or refuses to comply with it commits an offence.
    3. Mandatory recall of an electrical product will be considered when the non-complying electrical product poses significant risk of hazards. The risk associated with the electrical product would be assessed taking into consideration of various factors including potential injury, probability of hazard occurrence, etc.
    4. Apart from mandatory product recalls required under the EPSR, manufacturers, importers or any suppliers may initiate voluntary recalls of their electrical products which may be non-complying with the safety requirements to prevent the possibility of injury to consumers.
    5. This publication is to provide guidance for carrying out electrical product recalls on voluntary basis. It explains what should be done when electrical products have to be removed from the market and/or the consumers for public safety reasons. Recall of hazardous electrical products is in the common interest of the industry, the government and in particular, the consumers.
  2. OBJECTIVES OF A VOLUNTARY RECALL The objectives of a voluntary product recall are -
    1. to remove products which are non-complying with the prescribed safety requirements from the distribution chain and preferably to retrieve them from the possession of consumers; and
    2. to disseminate accurate and understandable information to the public about the non-compliance or defect of the product, the potential risk to consumers, and actions to be taken to address the potential risk.
  3. ROLE OF EMSD EMSD's main role in a voluntary recall is to monitor the progress of the recall and assess the adequacy of a supplier's action. After a recall is completed, EMSD will review the result of the recall and may consider requesting the supplier taking further action, if required. EMSD may make publicity about a recall when it considers that the public needs to be alerted about the potential hazard or that clarification of the situation needs to be made to allay public worries.
  4. ROLE OF THE PARTY CONDUCTING THE RECALL The party such as manufacturers, importers and agents, etc. supplying electrical products to Hong Kong carry the prime responsibility of implementing the recall, in a prompt and effective manner. The recall should be undertaken in consultation with EMSD to reach prior agreement on the recall strategy. During the recall process, the party should keep EMSD informed of the latest developments.
  5. INITIATION OF A RECALL
    1. Recall may be initiated as a result of reports / complaints from a variety of sources, such as manufacturers, wholesalers, retailers and consumers. It may also be initiated by reports appearing in overseas bulletins and similar publications of relevant authorities, or from information received directly from such authorities. Furthermore, it may be initiated by EMSD when the product is found potentially hazardous and had already been supplied in Hong Kong before the EPSR was put into operation in May 1998.
    2. To minimise the risk that may arise, recalls are usually carried out in the shortest time practicable. The party is encouraged to develop its own recall procedures so that it can respond promptly to any emerging situation. The procedures should be able to achieve the purposes of stopping distribution and sale of an affected item, notifying the public and EMSD of the problem, and effectively and efficiently retrieve from the market any product, which is potentially hazardous.
  6. RECALL ARRANGEMENTS
    1. Form of product recall Depending on the nature of the safety risks of the electrical product in question, a voluntary product recall may involve -
      1. replacing the electrical product with a like or equivalent product which complies with the prescribed safety requirements; or
      2. refunding the purchase price of such product (less a reasonable allowance for use, if such product has been in the possession of a consumer for one year or more); or
      3. repairing the defect in the electrical products so that they comply with the applicable safety standard or specification. This option should only be considered if the repair program is simple and would not cause undue inconvenience to those affected.
    2. Means of notification To make a product recall effective and successful and to avoid public confusion, the party conducting the recall should notify and brief all those affected promptly and effectively. The levels of notification may depend on the extent of the recall and the size of population affected. Therefore, one or a combination of the following means of notification may be considered.
      1. Direct notification
        Direct notification is commonly used to notify the retailers and/or wholesalers that a recall is being undertaken. This form of notification is also used when the purchasers including subsequent consumers can be identified. Direct notification may be in the form of a letter with a heading such as " Safety Recall Notice " and addressed to each recipient individually. The notification should clearly and in no uncertain terms spell out that the recall is for safety reasons. Notifications to wholesalers and retailers should contain instructions that the product must be immediately withdrawn from sale. This should be the first means of notifying relevant parties of the recall.
      2. Advertising
        Advertising of a product recall in both Chinese and English language newspapers, on television and radio networks is also a means that should be considered. A recall advertisement should only serve the very purpose of notifying the readers that a product recall is being undertaken and should be distinguished from other promotional advertisements. The advertisement should highlight the heading "Safety Recall Notice" or a similar heading. Depending on the content of the advertisement, the size of the advertisement in newspapers should not be less than 12cm x 15 cm. The size should be increased with the amount of information to be conveyed, the seriousness of the potential hazard and the number of models affected. The recall advertisement should be placed, at least, in two Chinese language newspapers and one English language newspaper on two days. In order to ensure effectiveness of the recall, circulation of the advertising media should be duly considered.
      3. Point of sale poster
        The display of point of sale posters at retail outlets, particularly at supermarkets, chain stores and department stores, where the recalled product was supplied, is another method of notifying the consumers of a recall. The poster should be displayed at several prominent and conspicuous locations in the store for at least two weeks to attract most attention. The posters should highlight the heading " Safety Recall Notice " or a similar heading and should be big enough so that they can be readily seen by consumers. The poster should include the name and telephone number of the party responsible for answering enquiries from the consumers.
      4. Press release
        Unless all purchasers and subsequent consumers of a product being recalled can be identified and notified directly, a supplier ought to issue a press release or an advertisement to generate the widest media attention and consumer response. Such a press release should be made available in both Chinese and English language newspapers, and/or on television and radio networks. The release should include the name and telephone number of the person responsible for answering enquiries from the media and consumers.
      5. Other means
        The party conducting a product recall may use any other means of notifying the public he / she considers appropriate.
    3. Type of Information No matter what level of means of notification is used, accurate information in plain and understandable language should be disseminated to the public in both Chinese and English. Information should include -
      1. Identification of the product
        Clear description of the product being recalled, including the brand name, model or serial number, batch number or product identification code and / or production date and its intended use, should be given. The provision of a photograph or drawing of the product would help avoid unnecessary confusion.
      2. Reasons for recall
        The reasons for the recall should be clearly stated. The information should include the problem of the product, e.g. the non-compliance or defect, and the specific hazard or potential risk.
      3. Immediate action consumers should take
        Advice should be given to consumers on the immediate action to be taken to avoid possible injury, e.g. unplug the electrical product or stop using the electrical product.
      4. Refund, replacement or repair arrangement
        Clear and adequate directions on how consumers may obtain refund, replacement, or repair of the product should be provided. The arrangement should not be so inconvenient or financially disadvantageous as to discourage consumers from returning their products.
      5. Enquiries
        A telephone hotline should also be set up to answer enquiries from consumers, retailers, etc.
    4. Designated location for product recall The product is to be returned to a central location, or in the case of widely distributed product, to various designated locations, e.g. chain stores, supermarkets, department stores, supply outlets / shops, etc. The designated locations should be convenient to the consumers.
    5. Monitoring of consumer response The party conducting a voluntary product recall should keep a record of the number of the product retrieved to monitor the progress of a recall. When the response rate is manifestly low having regard to all the circumstances, e.g. when the product was first distributed, price of the product and expected product life, the party should consider repeating the recall notification.
  7. NOTIFICATION TO EMSD
    1. Any person who wishes to initiate a voluntary product recall should notify EMSD and submit the proposed recall plan before conducting the recall. Where necessary, the Department may offer his / her advice and assistance in designing a recall action plan. Notification of a voluntary product recall and any enquiries about recall arrangements should be addressed to - Electrical Products Sub-division,
      Electricity Legislation Division, EMSD,
      3 Kai Shing Street, Kowloon, Hong Kong
      Tel. : 2808 3803
      Fax: 2895 4929
    2. When a product recall is in progress, EMSD may also provide assistance to ensure that it is being conducted effectively and in accordance with the recall action plan.
    3. A report should be submitted to EMSD after the recall is completed. The report should contain the result of the recall (quantity of stock returned / repaired) and the action proposed to be implemented in future to prevent a recurrence of the problem.
  8. CONCLUSION
    1. An effective and efficient recall is the quickest method to remove potentially hazardous products from the market and the consumers. A manufacturer, importer or agent of an electrical product should consider initiation of a recall as soon as he / she has obtained information, which reasonably supports that such product may be potentially hazardous. The information may include complaints from consumers, reports from the manufacturer, government or similar bodies, and results of test conducted by the supplier, government or similar bodies.
    2. An effective and reasonable recall can produce positive results of restoring and enhancing consumers' confidence in the product in question and rewarding the relevant party with continuing consumer support.
    3. This set of Guidelines intends to provide a guide on how to conduct a voluntary product recall. However, circumstances vary by case. Parties conducting the recall should use their business judgement to design a recall program that best suit their needs and adjust these Guidelines when appropriate.
    4. Enquiries about these guidelines can be addressed to the Electrical Products Sub-division of the Electrical and Mechanical Services Department, referred to in paragraph 7.1 above.

*Note: This publication is not a legal document. It is only a guide to the arrangements for a voluntary recall of electrical products controlled and regulated by the Electrical Products (Safety) Regulation of Electricity Ordinance, Chapter 406. You must read the Regulation themselves and, if necessary, seek independent legal advice for full and accurate understanding of the Regulation.

Electrical and Mechanical Services Department
March 2003

電力條例(第 406 章)

電氣產品(安全)規例

自行收回不符合安全規格電氣產品指引

  1. 引言
    1. 電力條例(第 406 章)下的電氣產品(安全)規例由機電工程署負責執行。其目的是要查察任何不符合訂明安全規格的電氣產品,制止這些產品流出市面,以保障消費者安全,避免發生危險。
    2. 自行收回產品的目的 督察們正為一件家庭電器進行測試 為私人樓宇的公用電力裝置進行安全檢查 為私人樓宇的公用電力裝置進行安全檢查 根據電力條例第 25 條的規定,倘機電工程署署長認為某一電氣產品不符合訂明安全規格,可禁止使用及/或供應該產品。電氣產品(安全)規例第 11 條更授權機電工程署署長可將一份書面通知送達有關電氣產品供應商,規定該供應商將產品中可能產生危險的不妥善之處通知購貨人、接受該產品的退貨,以及當購貨人出示產品收據時,付還購貨人就該產品支付的任何款項。任何人如獲發出此等強制收回通知書但卻沒有遵從或拒絕遵從,即屬違法。
    3. 如某一不合規格的電氣產品對公眾人士的安全構成重大危險,當局便會考慮強制收回有關產品。當局亦會根據導致受傷的可能性、構成危險的可能性等各項因素,評估與該電氣產品有關的危險。
    4. 除根據電氣產品(安全)規例要求強制收回產品外,製造商、進口商或任何供應商亦可自行收回可能不符合安全規格的電氣產品,以免引致消費者受傷。
    5. 本文件旨在就自行收回電氣產品提供指引,並闡述基於公眾安全而從市面及/或消費者手上收回電氣產品的程序。收回危險的電氣產品,完全符合業界、政府當局以及特別是公眾人士的共同利益。
  2. 自行收回產品的目的 自行收回產品的目的如下:
    1. 把不符合訂明安全規格的電氣產品,從分銷網絡收回。若能從消費者手上收回該等產品,則更理想;以及
    2. 用公眾人士易於理解的方法,準確地說明產品不合規格或欠妥之處、對消費者構成的潛在危險,以及所採取處理有關問題的措施。
  3. 機電工程署的責任 在自行收回產品的過程中,機電工程署的主要責任是監察行動的進展和評核供應商的安排是否妥善。收回產品的工作完成後,機電工程署會檢討是項工作的成效。如有需要,更可能要求供應商採取進一步行動。倘若機電工程署認為需要提醒公眾人士注意有關產品的潛在危險或需要作出澄清,以免公眾人士擔憂時,亦可能將收回產品的行動公布周知。
  4. 進行收回產品人士的責任 有關人士諸如製造商、進口商和代理商等在本港供應電氣產品的人士,在迅速採取行動,以便有效收回產品上所負的責任,至為重大。展開回收行動前,有關人士應與機電工程署商量,以便就收回策略達成共識。在收回產品的過程中,負責有關行動的人士應向機電工程署滙報最新情況。
  5. 引發回收的因素
    1. 回收可由於製造商、批發商、零售商和消費者等各方面作出的報告/投訴而引發,亦可能由於有關海外機構的期刊或同類刊物刊載的報導,或由該等機構直接提供的資料所致。此外,機電工程署如發現某一電氣產品有潛在危險,並且在 1998 年 5 月電氣產品(安全)規例實施前已於本港供應,亦可能要求製造商、批發商和代理商等主動進行回收。
    2. 為免發生危險,回收行動應盡快展開。有關人士宜自行制定回收程序,以便出現突發情況時,能迅速作出回應。回收程序應達致以下目標:停止分銷和出售受影響的產品、知會公眾人士和機電工程署有關問題,以及有效而迅速地從市面收回任何有潛在危險的產品。
  6. 回收安排
    1. 產品回收方式 自行回收電氣產品的方式有以下幾種,視乎有關產品引致的安全問題而定:
      1. 用同類或相同但符合訂明安全規格的電氣產品替換有關產品;
      2. 按產品的購買價安排退款(如消費者擁有該產品達一年或以上,則扣減合理款額,作為使用該產品的費用);或
      3. 修理有關電氣產品欠妥之處,使能符合適用於該產品的安全標準或規格。此安排只適宜修理過程簡單,而不會對受影響人士構成不便的個案。
    2. 通知方法 為確保回收行動有效和成功地進行,以及為免造成混亂,進行回收的人士應迅速和有效地通知所有受影響人士,並向他們作出指示。通知層面則視乎回收行動的規模及受影響的人數而有所不同。下列任何一項或多項通知方法可予考慮:
      1. 直接通知
        直接通知是最常用以通知零售商及/或批發商回收的方法。如能找到購貨人及消費者的資料,亦可採用這通知方法。直接通知可以書面方式寄交個別收件人,信中註明「安全回收通知」。該通知必須清楚而毫不含糊地解釋收回產品是基於安全理由,而所有向批發商及零售商發出的通知書,必須載有立即停止發售有關產品的指示。這方法是通知有關人士收回產品的首選方法。
      2. 廣告
        在中、英文報章上刊登,以及在電視台和電台播放回收廣告,同樣是值得考慮的方法。但這種廣告只應用以通知公眾人士產品回收行動正在進行,因此必須有別於其他宣傳性質的廣告。廣告標題「安全回收通知」或類似標題必須突出。在報章上刊登的廣告,大小視廣告內容而定,但不得小於 12 厘米 x 15 厘米,並且得隨須傳達的資料、潛在危險的程度和受影響型號的數目而增大。回收廣告應至少在兩份中文報章及一份英文報章上刊登兩天。為確保有效回收產品,刊登廣告時應考慮有關報章是否暢銷。
      3. 在售賣處張貼海報
        另一種通知消費者回收產品的方法,是把海報張貼在各個零售地點,特別是曾經出售需要回收產品的超級市場、連鎖店及百貨公司等。這些海報必須張貼在店舖內若干顯眼的位置,為時最少兩星期,以便吸引最多顧客的注意。海報上的標題「安全回收通知」或類似標題必須突出,海報面積必須夠大,好讓消費者能輕易看到。海報須印有負責人的姓名及電話號碼,以便解答消費者的查詢。
      4. 新聞稿
        如無法直接通知所有購貨人及消費者回收某產品,供應商應發出新聞稿或廣告,引起傳媒廣泛報道及消費者注意。每份新聞稿都應發給中、英文報章,及/或電視台和電台。新聞稿須包括負責人的姓名及電話號碼,以便解答傳媒及消費者的查詢。
      5. 其他方法
        擬進行產品回收工作的人士,可採用其認為適當的任何其他方法,通知市民大眾。
    3. 資料類別 不論在那個層面或採用甚麼方法發出通知,通知內容均須以淺白易明的中、英文表達,務求向市民傳達準確的資料。有關資料應包括:
      1. 產品識別
        清楚說明回收產品的詳細資料,包括牌子、型號或編號、批號或產品識別號碼及/或生產日期,以至產品的原定用途等。為免出現不必要的混淆,可同時提供產品的照片或繪圖。
      2. 回收理由
        清楚列明回收理由,包括產品出現的問題,如不符合規格或不妥善之處、產品的具體危險或潛在問題等資料。
      3. 消費者應採取的即時措施
        向消費者建議他們應採取的即時措施,以避免產品可能對他們造成傷害,例如,建議拔去有關電氣產品的插頭或停止使用該電氣產品。
      4. 退款、替換或修理安排
        向消費者提供清晰且足夠的指示,告知他們如何辦理退款、替換或修理產品的手續。有關安排不應對消費者造成諸多不便或經濟損失,以致他們不願退還產品。
      5. 查詢
        設立電話熱線,解答消費者或零售商的查詢。
    4. 回收產品的指定地點 應集中在一個地點進行產品回收工作,或倘若產品已廣為銷售,便應在連鎖店、超級市場、百貨公司、供應店舖/商號等各個指定地點進行回收工作。指定地點必須設在消費者易於到達以退回產品的地方。
    5. 監察消費者的反應 自行回收產品的人士,應記錄已收回產品的數量,以便監察回收工作的進度。如考慮到所有情況後,包括產品首次推出的時間、產品價格及預計產品的使用期限,發覺消費者的反應率明顯偏低,有關人士應考慮再次發出回收通知。
  7. 通知機電工程署
    1. 任何人士如擬自行進行產品回收工作,請事先通知機電工程署,並提交建議的回收計劃。如有需要,本署可就制訂回收行動計劃提供建議及協助。如對有關通知及回收安排有任何查詢,請與機電工程署聯絡: 香港九龍啟成街 3 號機電工程
      電力法例
      電氣產品分部
      電話:2808 3803
      傳真:2895 4929
    2. 進行產品回收工作期間,機電工程署可提供協助,確保回收工作能有效地按照回收行動計劃進行。
    3. 產品回收工作完成後,有關人士必須向機電工程署提交報告。報告應載述產品回收工作的結果(退回/修理的產品數量),以及建議日後採取的行動,以避免再發生同類問題。
  8. 總結
    1. 有效而迅速的回收行動,是從市面或消費者收回有潛在危險產品的最快捷方法。電氣產品的製造商、進口商或供應商一旦取得資料,在合理程度上證明某產品有潛在危險,便應考慮盡快展開回收工作。資料來源可以是消費者提出的投訴、製造商、政府部門或類似機構的報告,以及供應商、政府部門或類似機構進行測試所得的結果。
    2. 有效而適當的回收工作可產生積極效果,一方面可挽回及加強消費者對產品的信心,另一方面消費者亦會對有關商號繼續支持。
    3. 本指引旨在就進行自行回收產品工作,提供指引。不過,由於情況各有不同,進行回收工作的人士應根據其商業判斷,制訂最切合本身需要的回收行動計劃,並在適當情況下,對指引內容加以調整。
    4. 如對本指引有任何疑問,請向機電工程署電力法例部電氣產品分部查詢,詳情請參閱上文第 7.1 段。

*: 本小冊子並非法律文件,而僅就自行收回受電力條例(第 406 章)下電氣產品(安全)規例規管的電氣產品提供指引。如須詳盡及準確理解該規例的規定,必須閱讀規例的條文,以及如有需要,請徵詢法律意見。

機電工程署
2003 年 3 月