A A A
DESKTOP VERSION
 
FAQS
 
 

Q
Why to implement the Mandatory Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme (MEELS)?
A
To facilitate the public in choosing energy efficient products and raise public awareness of energy saving, the Government has introduced the Mandatory Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme (MEELS) under the Energy Efficiency (Labelling of Products) Ordinance, Cap. 598 (the Ordinance). Under MEELS, energy labels are required to be shown on the prescribed products for supply in the Hong Kong market to inform consumers of their energy efficiency performance.

Energylabel

 
Q
When was MEELS implemented?
A The initial phase of MEELS covers three types of products, namely room air conditioners, refrigerating appliances and compact fluorescent lamps, and has been fully implemented since 9 November 2009. The second phase of MEELS extends the coverage to two more electrical appliances, namely washing machines and dehumidifiers, and has also been fully implemented since 19 September 2011.

The third phase of MEELS extends the coverage to three more types of products, namely televisions, storage type electric water heaters and induction cookers. The scope of two types of the existing prescribed products, namely washing machines (with rated washing capacity from not exceeding 7 kg to not exceeding 10 kg) and reverse cycle type room air conditioners (from cooling performance only to both cooling and heating performance), is also extended. Energy labels must be displayed on the prescribed products after the grace period (1 December 2019).
 
Q
What is the coverage of the current Mandatory Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme (MEELS)?
A
MEELS now covers eight types of prescribed products, including:
Room air conditioners (with rated cooling capacity not exceeding 7.5 kilowatts), refrigerating appliances (with rated total storage volume not exceeding 500 litres), compact fluorescent lamps (with rated wattage up to 60 watts), washing machines (with rated washing capacity not exceeding 10 kg), dehumidifiers (with rated dehumidifying capacity not exceeding 35 litres per day), televisions (with rated visible diagonal screen size exceeding 50 cm but not exceeding 250 cm), induction cookers (with rated power not less than 700 watts but not exceeding 3 500 watts for each heating unit, and with total rated power not exceeding 7 000 watts), and storage type electric water heaters (with rated water storage capacity not exceeding 50 litres).

Please click here for the details of the scope in the Code of Practice on Energy Labelling of Products.
 
Q
How many grades are there under the mandatory energy labels? What are the standards for the grade classification?
A
The “Grading Type” energy labels under MEELS differentiate the same type of product according to energy efficiency into five grades to facilitate consumers to choose energy efficient products. A product with a Grade 1 energy label means that it is among the most energy efficient in the market while a product with a Grade 5 energy label is the least energy efficient.

Generally speaking, the testing procedures are in line with the relevant international testing standards or national standards (if no relevant international testing standard is available). When determining the energy efficiency grade of a product model, the requirements specified in the Code of Practice on Energy Labelling of Products under MEELS, including testing standards, requirements on testing laboratory, calculation of energy efficiency grade, etc. must be followed.
 
Q
Where can I find the list of products with energy labels?
A
EMSD maintains a record of listed models containing all product models which have been assigned with energy label reference numbers and are still valid.
 
Q
How much energy can be saved by using products with Grade 1 energy labels versus those with Grade 3 and Grade 5 energy labels?
A
Energy efficient products not only consume less energy, they help protect the environment and save money in the long run. The energy saving in percentage terms is as follows:

  Grade 1 vs Grade 3 Grade 1 vs Grade 5
Room Air Conditioners
(Cooling Performance)
23% 43%
Room Air Conditioners
(Heating Performance)
18% 37%
Refrigerating Appliances 41% 97%
Compact Fluorescent Lamps (CFLs) 14% 18%
Washing Machines 23% 48%
Dehumidifiers 23% 57%
Televisions 77% 177%
Storage Type Electric Water Heaters 30% 60%
Induction Cookers 4% 7%
 
Q
How much can I save each year by replacing incandescent lamps with energy efficient compact fluorescent lamps (CFLs)?
A
CFLs can save around 75% of electricity compared with incandescent lamps and on average last up to six to eight times or more. Grade 1 and Grade 2 CFLs have an average life of 8 000 hours or above.
   
Q
Is washer-dryer required to have an energy label?
A
Washing machines combined with built-in dryers for drying textiles by means of heating are included in MEELS but only the energy consumption of the washing machine shall be measured and the drying function is excluded.
 
Q
When choosing dehumidifier, sometimes the product information from the manufacturer is not the same as those on the energy label. How to know whether it is energy efficient?
A
The product energy efficiency information shown on the energy label (e.g. energy efficiency grading, annual energy consumption, dehumidifying capacity, etc) are measured under the same standard testing environment (i.e. temperature at 26.7℃ and relative humidity at 60%) so that consumer can easily compare the energy efficiency performance of different product models when choosing dehumidifiers. We encourage consumers to consider the information shown on the energy label when choosing dehumidifiers.
 
Q
Should we not to choose dehumidifiers that may operate by using desiccant material which consume more energy?
A
The Mandatory Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme currently covers compression type dehumidifiers, not the desiccant material type dehumidifiers. Regarding the product energy efficiency performance information of desiccant material type dehumidifiers, consumers may ask the sales agent or manufacturer.
 
Q
Who are responsible for applying for the energy label?
A
Prior to supplying a prescribed product in Hong Kong, the importer or local manufacturer shall apply for an energy label for the product.
 
Q
How to apply for the energy label?
A
The importer or local manufacturer shall apply for an energy label for its product by submitting the product information, including test reports of the product model, to the EMSD for assignment of a reference number. Please refer to the "How to apply for an Energy Label" section for more information on the submission forms and guidelines
 
Q
What test laboratories are recognised under MEELS?
A
The recognised laboratories must be (1) accredited under the Hong Kong Laboratory Accreditation Scheme operated by the Hong Kong Accreditation Service (HKAS) for the relevant test; (2) accredited under an accreditation scheme operated by a laboratory accreditation body in other economies with which HKAS has concluded a mutual recognition agreement/arrangement (MRA) for the relevant test; (3) assessed and evaluated by a recognised independent certification body and is certified by the independent certification body to be competent for carrying out the relevant test; or (4) assessed and recognised by the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services under the voluntary EELS for conducting the relevant test, and is certified under ISO 9001 or equivalent standards for quality system. Please click here for further details.
 
Q
What are the technical energy performance requirements and laboratory testing requirements for different types of products?
A
The Code of Practice on Energy Labelling of Products (Code of Practice) has been issued by the EMSD to provide practical guidance and technical details in respect of the MEELS requirements. Please click here Code of Practice.
 
Q
What is the penalty for supplying a prescribed product that does not comply with the energy efficiency labelling requirements of the Ordinance?
A
Any person who contravenes the requirements commits an offence under the Ordinance and is liable to a maximum fine of $100,000 upon conviction.
 
Q
How long does it take to process an energy label application?
A
Under our performance pledge, an energy label application can be processed within 17 working days after submission.
 
Q
Where can I find the testing standards and requirements for each electrical appliance under MEELS?
A
The Code of Practice on Energy Labelling of Products (Code of Practice) has been issued by the EMSD to provide practical guidance and technical details in respect of the MEELS requirements. Please click here for the Code of Practice.


 
Q
How often does the EMSD review the Code of Practice on Energy Labelling of Products?
A
The EMSD will regularly review the Code of Practice on Energy Labelling of Products according to the latest technological and market developments.

EMSD A A A
ENG
繁体
简体
 
主页 联络我们 网页指南 免责声明

 

产品列表
常见问题
强制性能源效益标签常见问题
问题
为何实施强制性能源效益标签计划?
答案 为方便市民选择具能源效益的产品及提升市民对节约能源的意识,政府已根据《能源效益(产品标签)条例》(第598章)(该条例)推行强制性能源效益标签计划(强制性标签计划)。根据强制性标签计划,在本港供应的订明产品都必须贴上能源标签,让消费者知悉有关产品的能源效益表现。

 强制性能源效益标签计划

 
问题
强制性标签计划何时实施?
答案 强制性标签计划分阶段推行。计划首阶段涵盖三类产品(即空调机、冷冻器具和紧凑型荧光灯(省电灯泡),已于 2009年11月9日起全面实施。强制性标签计划第二阶段扩大涵盖范围至另外两类电器(即洗衣机和抽湿机),亦已于 2011年9月19日起全面实施。

强制性标签计划第三阶段扩大涵盖范围至另外三类产品,即电视机、储水式电热水器和电磁炉。第三阶段亦扩大了现有两类订明产品(即洗衣机和逆转循环型空调机)的涵盖范围,洗衣机的额定洗衣量由不超过7公斤增至不超过10公斤,逆转循环型空调机则由净制冷功能扩展至制冷和供暖功能。在2019年12月1日后,所有订明产品必须附有能源标签。
   
问题
目前强制性标签计划涵盖了哪些范围?
答案 目前强制性标签计划涵盖八类订明产品,包括:
空调机(额定制冷量不超过7.5千瓦)、冷冻器具(额定总容积不超过500公升)、省电灯泡(最高额定瓦数值为60瓦特)、洗衣机(额定洗衣量不超过10公斤)、抽湿机(额定抽湿量不超过每日35公升)、电视机(额定可视屏幕对角尺寸超过50厘米但不超过250厘米)、电磁炉(每个加热单元的额定功率不少于700瓦特但不超过3 500瓦特,而总额定功率不超过7 000瓦特),以及储水式电热水器(额定储水容量不超过50公升)。

有关《产品能源标签实务守则》涵盖范围的详情,请按此参阅。
   
问题
强制性能源标签共有多少个分级?每个级别分类的标准是什么?
答案 強制性標籤計劃的「級別式」能源標籤把同一類產品的能源效益分為五級,方便消費者選擇具能源效益的產品。產品如獲得1級能源標籤,就表示該產品屬市面上能源效益最高的產品之一;如獲得5級能源標籤,就表示該產品的能源效益最低。

一般而言,测试程序会与有关的国际测试标准或国家标准(如没有有关的国际测试标准)配合。在厘定有关产品型号的能源效益级别时,须根据强制性标签计划的《产品能源标签实务守则》的要求,包括测试标准、对实验所的要求、能源效益级别的计算等。
 
问题
能源标签具体有几个分级?每个级别分类的标准是什么?
答案 强制性标签计划的「级别式」能源标签把同一类产品的能源效益分为五级,方便消费者选择具能源效益的产品。产品如获得第一级能源标签,表示该产品在市面上能源效益最高,如获得第五级能源标签,表示该产品的能源效益最低。

测试程序一般会与有关的国际测试标准或国家标准(如没有有关的国际测试标准)配合。在厘定有关产品型号的能源效益级别时,须根据强制性标签计划的《产品能源标签实务守则》的要求,包括测试标准、对实验所的要求、能源效益级别的计算等。

问题
哪里可以找到附有能源标签的产品名单?
答案 机电工程署备存「表列型号纪录册」,载列所有已获编配能源标签参考编号而仍然有效的产品型号。
 
问题
1 级能源标签和 3 级或 5 级的能源标签的产品,可节省多少能源?
答案 高能源效益的产品消耗较少能源,有助保护环境,长远来说更可为用户节省金钱。有关节省能源的百分比如下:

  1级与3级相比 1级与5级相比
空调机 (制冷功能) 23% 43%
空调机 (逆转循环型) 18% 37%
冷冻器具 41% 97%
省电灯泡 28% 57%
洗衣机 23% 48%
抽湿器 28% 57%
电视机 77% 177%
储水式电热水器 30% 60%
电磁炉 4% 7%


 
问题
把钨丝灯换上具能效的紧凑型荧光灯(省电灯泡),每年可节省多少钱?
答案 与钨丝灯相比,省电灯泡可节省约75%的电力,平均寿命是六至八倍或以上。1级和2级省电灯泡的平均寿命达8 000小时或以上。
 
问题
洗衣干衣机必须附有能源标签吗?
答案 强制性能源效益标签计划涵盖设有用热力令纺织品变干的内置干衣装置的洗衣机,但只计算洗衣机的耗电量,不包括洗衣机的干衣功能。
 
问题
选购抽湿机时,能源标签跟制造商的产品数据有时不尽相同,怎样知道产品是否真的节省电力?
答案 能源标签上所显示的产品能源效益数据(如能源效益级别、每年耗电量、抽湿量等)都是在同一标准测试环境下(即温度 26.7℃及相对湿度 60% )量度所得的,让消费者在选购时可容易比较不同产品型号的能源效益表现。我们鼓励消费者在选购抽湿器时,参阅能源标签上的数据。
 
问题
热石式抽湿器较为耗电,是否不应该选购?
答案 强制性能源效益标签计划现时只涵盖压缩式抽湿器,并不涵盖热石式抽湿器。有关热石式抽湿器的产品能源效益表现数据,消费者可向代理商或制造商查询。
 
问题
谁负责申请能源标签?
答案 进口商或本地制造商必须在本港供应订明产品前就有关产品申请能源标签。
 
问题
应怎样申请能源标签?
答案 进口商或本地制造商为产品申请能源标签时,应向机电署呈交产品数据(包括产品型号的测试报告),以供机电署编配参考编号。有关呈交表格及相关指引的详细数据,请参阅「如何申请能源标签」部分。
   
问题
哪些测试实验所获强制性标签计划认可?
答案 获认可的测试实验所必须(1)就有关测试获香港认可处根据香港实验所认可计划认可;(2)就有关测试获其他经济体系的实验所审定团体(与香港认可处签订互认协议/安排的实验所审定团体)根据认可计划认可;(3)已获认可的独立认证团体评估及评核,并获该认证团体证明有足够能力进行有关测试;或(4)已获机电工程署署长根据自愿性能源效益标签计划评估及认可,以进行有关测试,并已根据ISO 9001或有关质量系统的同等标准获得认证。请按此参阅相关详情。
 
问题
不同类型的产品有哪些能源表现技术规定和实验所测试规定?
答案 机电署已发出《产品能源标签实务守则》,就强制性标签计划的规定提供实务指引及技术细则。请按此查阅有关实务守则。
 
问题
如供应的订明产品不符合该条例的能源效益标签规定,会有什么惩罚?
答案 根据该条例,任何人如违反有关规定即属违法。一经定罪,最高可处罚款100,000元。

   
问题
能源标签的申请流程需时多久?
答案 根据我们的服务承诺,能源标签申请手续可于提交申请后17个工作天内办妥。
   
问题
哪里可以找到强制性标签计划所涵盖的每种电器的测试标准及规定?
答案 机电署已发出《产品能源标签实务守则》,就强制性标签计划的规定提供实务指引及技术细则。请按此查阅有关实务守则。
   
问题
机电署每隔多久会对《产品能源标签实务守则》进行检讨?
答案 机电署会因应最新的技术和市场发展,定期对《产品能源标签实务守则》进行检讨。