Development

Fresh Water Cooling Towers

In June 2000, the Government, with the support of EMSD and other bureaux/departments, launched a scheme for wider use of fresh water in cooling towers for energy efficient air conditioning systems (FWCT Scheme) for non-domestic buildings. The FWCT Scheme was launched as a pilot scheme for application in initial 6 designated areas in Hong Kong. With its widely acceptance by the trade, it has changed its pilot status to a standing one from June 2008. A recent review was completed in December 2016 to streamline application procedures and requirements of the FWCT Scheme.

How to Apply

This scheme applies to all non-domestic buildings and other buildings where the use of fresh water for evaporative cooling is supplied for non-domestic usage within the designated areas. They are encouraged to apply for participation in the FWCT Scheme for their fresh water cooling towers installations. Please click here for details of application procedures for joining the FWCT Scheme. 

Designated Areas

The updated location plans of the designated areas for application are listed at the following:

Outside designated areas

For premises located outside the listed designated areas, applications for joining the FWCT Scheme for their fresh water cooling tower installations are also welcomed and will be considered on a case-by-case basis in consultation with Water Supplies Department (WSD) on adequacy of fresh water supply. Addition/ extension of designated areas will be considered as appropriate with regard to the applications.

Publications for FWCT Scheme

Requirements of Joining FWCT Scheme

The requirements of application and operation of the FWCT Scheme are detailed in the following documents: 

Code of Practice for Fresh Water Cooling Towers - CoP(FWCT)

To promote the proper use of water-cooled air conditioning systems for energy efficiency with regard to the environment and health issues, a set of Code of Practice for Water-cooled Air Conditioning System, CoP(WACS), 2006 edition, was promulgated in July 2006 to provide guidelines for the cooling tower design, installation, testing, commissioning, operation and maintenance. The CoP(WACS) was then reviewed and renamed as Code of Practice for Fresh Water Cooling Towers, 2016 edition, CoP(FWCT). The new CoP(FWCT) comprises three parts:-

All applications for participation in the FWCT Scheme should comply with the requirements and guidance in the FWCT Scheme Brochure and CoP(FWCT): Parts 1-3.

Further, all cooling tower installations under the FWCT Scheme should also comply with the requirements stipulated in Code of Practice for Prevention of Legionnaires' Disease, 2016 edition (Incorporating Addendum No. 01/2018) [PDF format (4.14 MB)] published by the Prevention of Legionnaires' Disease Committee.

Good Operation and Maintenance Practice of Fresh Water Cooling Towers

The owners of cooling tower installations should maintain proper conditions of the fresh water cooling towers to minimize contamination and nuisances to the public. A Guideline on Good Operation and Maintenance Practice of Fresh Water Cooling Towers [PDF format (2.9MB)] is compiled based on CoP(FWCT): Part 2 for easy reference.

To facilitate Good Operation and Maintenance Practice of Fresh Water Cooling Towers, EMSD has also prepared a Video [MP4 format (156MB)] (Only Cantonese dialogue provided) ...download script [PDF format (427KB)] and a sample specification in procuring operation and maintenance services for cooling towers for reference by owners and property management agencies :-

Sample Specification for Procurement of Operation and Maintenance Services for Fresh Water Cooling Towers [PDF format (126KB)]

*Note: If the FWCT Scheme is suspended under special circumstances, the public will normally be notified not less than 6 months in advance.

发展

在机电工程署及其他决策局╱部门的支持下,政府于2000年6月推行一个非住宅楼宇水冷式空调系统广泛使用淡水的计划(淡水冷却塔计划) 。该计划是先导性计划,先在本港6个选定地区接受申请,在该计划广泛被业界接受下,该计划于2008年6月起由先行性质改为常设运作。该计划于2016年12月完成检讨,以简化参与计划的申请程序和要求。

申请办法

本计划适用于选定地区内所有非住宅建筑物及其他建筑物 ,而其淡水作蒸发式冷却之用,须作为非住用途。并鼓励他们将其淡水冷却塔设施申请参与淡水冷却塔计划。请按此查阅「淡水冷却塔计划」的申请程序。

选定地区

有关最新选定地区位置图的详情在以下网址列出:

选定地区以外

如楼宇位于选定地区以外,也欢迎为其淡水冷塔装置申请参与该计划。我们会就每个个案就淡水供应是否足够征询水务署意见,以作出考虑。如适合的话,我们会就有关申请考虑增加或扩大现有的选定地区。

淡水冷却塔计划的相关刊物

参与「淡水冷却塔计划」的要求

有关淡水冷却塔计划的运作和申请要求可参照以下文件:

淡水冷却塔实务守则(实务守则)

机电工程署于2006年7月推出一套指引包括冷却塔设计、安装、调试、操作及维修等的2006年版「水冷式空调系统实务守则」,以推广适当地使用水冷式空调系统以达成能源效益,并同时兼顾环境和卫生等事宜。实务守则其后进行全面检讨,并改名为2016年版的「淡水冷却塔实务守则」,新的实务守则包含以下三个部份:

所有参与淡水冷却塔计划的申请,必须遵从上述「淡水冷却塔计划小册子」及「淡水冷却塔实务守则」第一至三部的指引及规定。

此外,所有该计划下的冷却塔装置亦须符合由预防退伍军人病委员会出版的2016年版「预防退伍军人病工作守则」(整合增编第01/2018号) [PDF 格式 (5.15MB)]内陈述的要求。

淡水冷却塔操作及维修的良好作业

冷却塔拥有人应保持淡水冷却塔处于妥善的状况,把对公众构成的污染和滋扰减至最低。为此,我们按实务守则第二部制定了淡水冷却塔操作及维修的良好作业指引 [PDF 格式 (2.9MB)] ,以供参考。

为方便冷却塔拥有人和物业管理公司妥善操作及维修淡水冷却塔,机电署已制备了一辑短片 [MP4 格式 (156MB)] ...下载脚本 [PDF 格式 (427KB)] 及一份规格样本,以供他们在采购淡水冷却塔操作及维修服务时参考: -

淡水冷却塔操作及维修服务采购规格样本(只提供英文版本作参考) [PDF 格式 (126KB)]

注意:如淡水冷却塔计划在特殊情况下暂停,我们通常将会在不少于六个月的时间预先向外通告。