To make it easier for the public to choose energy efficient products, EMSD operates a voluntary Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme for appliances and equipment used both at home and office as well as for vehicles. The scheme aims to save energy by informing potential customers of the product's level of energy consumption and efficiency rating, so that buyers can take these factors into consideration when making their purchasing decision.

Voluntary Energy Efficiency Label

The scheme now covers twenty two types of household appliances and office equipment. Thirteen types of which are electrical appliances including refrigerating appliances (Voluntary Scheme), washing machines (Voluntary Scheme), non-integrated type compact fluorescent lamps, dehumidifiers (Voluntary Scheme), electric clothes dryers, room air conditioners (Voluntary  Scheme), electric storage water heaters, television sets, electric rice-cookers, electronic ballasts, LED lamps, induction cookers and microwave ovens. The seven types of office equipment include photocopiers, fax machines, multifunction devices, printers, LCD monitors, computers and hot / cold bottled water dispensers. There are two types of gas appliance for domestic gas instantaneous water heaters and gas cookers. The scheme has also been extended to cover petrol passenger cars.

EMSD has extended the voluntary Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme (EELS) to cover microwave oven with effective from 18 December 2014.

To further facilitate the public in choosing energy efficient appliances and raise public awareness on energy saving, the Government has introduced a Mandatory Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme (MEELS) through the Energy Efficiency (Labelling of Products) Ordinance, Cap. 598.

为方便市民选用具能源效益的产品,机电工程署推行了自愿参与的家用器具、办公室器材及汽车能源效益标籤计划。该计划旨在为消费者提供不同产品的能源消耗量及效益资料,有助他们购买时作出精明的选择。

自愿性能源效益标籤计划

该计划现涵盖该二十二种器具及器材,其中十三种家用电器包括冷冻器具(自愿性计划)、洗衣机(自愿性计划)、非整合式紧凑型荧光灯、抽湿机(自愿性计划)、电动干衣机、空调机(自愿性计划)、储水式电热水炉、电视机、电饭煲、电子镇流器、 LED 灯、电磁炉及微波炉﹔七种办公室器材,包括影印机、传真机、多功能办公室设备、打印机、液晶显示器、电脑及冷热饮水机和两种气体器具包括住宅式即热气体热水炉及气体煮食炉。此外,该计划亦扩展至汽油私家车。

机电工程署由 2014 年 12 月 18 日起,已经把「自愿性能源效益标籤计划」的涵盖范围扩展至微波炉。

为进一步方便市民挑选具能源效益的器具及提升市民对节约能源的意识,政府现正透过《能源效益(产品标籤)条例》(第 598 章)推行强制性能源效益标籤计划(强制性标籤计划)