The Energy Scene of Hong Kong

Energy is crucial to the development of modern society. For a metropolitan city like Hong Kong, energy is of fundamental importance to economic activities therein. With the scarcity of flat land within a territory of only 1097 square km accommodating a high and ever increasing population, we need to secure energy resources to create a habitable indoor environment inside the high-rise commercial and residential buildings.

We also need a lot of energy resources to drive our infrastructure machinery - our water supply, drainage systems and road networks. Of course we require energy to provide mobility for everyone of us - railway, trams, cars, aeroplanes.

However, there are no indigenous energy resources in Hong Kong, we have to derive energy supplies almost entirely from external sources. Energy is either imported directly (as in the case of oil products and coal products), or produced through some intermediate transformation processes using imported fuel inputs (as in the case of electricity and towngas). Small amount of energy are produced by renewable energy sources such as solar and wind energy.

To explain the energy scene of Hong Kong, we first look at two major aggregate energy indicators: the "Primary Energy Requirements" (the equivalent of "Total Primary Energy Supply (TPS)" of other economies) and the "Final Energy Requirements" (the equivalent of "Total Final Energy Consumption (TFC)" of other economies)

"Primary energy requirements" (PER) refers to the overall energy consumption within the geographic territory. It represents the total supply of energy available to the territory, which supports all the requirements for energy transformation and final consumption in that territory, and includes both indigenous energy sources and imported energy commodities consumed within the territory. In the case of Hong Kong, it is calculated from retained imports of coal and oil products as well as electricity, net of bunkers' usage, after adjustment for supply from stock.

"Final energy requirements" (FER) refers to the amount of energy consumed by final users for all energy purposes such as heating, cooking and driving machinery. It differs from PER in that the latter includes all energy used or lost in the energy transformation and the distribution process.

According to Government's statistics, from 2005 to 2015, the primary energy requirements (PER) was about the same but the final energy requirements (FER) decreased by 4.0%.

PER and FER from 2005 to 2015


The electricity consumption increased from 144,172 TJ in 2005 to 158,274TJ in 2015 by 9.8%.

Coal dominates the fuel mix for power generation in Hong Kong, in 2013 on sent-out basis, at around 57%, followed by natural gas 21% and nuclear power imported from the Mainland 22%.

Fuel mix in 2013 (on sent-out basis)


Reference:

能源

中國香港的能源概況

能源對現代社會的發展十分重要,像香港這種大都會來說,能源對所有經濟活動均不可或缺。香港的面積只有1,097平方公里,平地稀少,但人口卻多,而且不斷上升。我們需要大量能源,以在各式高樓大廈中創造出舒適的室內環境。

除此以外,我們亦需要大量能源,令我們的基礎設施得以運作,好像供水、排水和道路系統等。當然,鐵路、電車、汽車和飛機等交通工具亦需要能源,才能行走。

可是,香港本土並無能源資源,必須完全依賴入口燃料,這可能是直接從境外進口(例如油產品和煤產品),又或是進口燃料後於香港進行加工(例如電力和煤氣)。除此之外,還有小部分的能源由可再生能源如太陽能和風能提供。

要解釋香港的能源情況,我們首先要看看兩個主要總能源指標,即「一次能源需求」(相等於其它國家的「一次能源總供應量」)和「最終能源需求」(相等於其它國家的「最終能源總消耗量」)。

「一次能源需求」(PER)是指在一地域內的整體能源用量。它代表在境內所有用作能源轉化和最終使用的能源供應。一般而言,在一地域內的一次能源需求包括本地生產和進口的能源產品。以香港而言,其計算方法是先將油產品、煤產品和電力的進口留用數字減除船或飛機艙所需的能源,然後再將餘數就貯存量供應的變化作調整而得。

「最終能源需求」(FER)是指最終使用者用於如發熱、煮食和推動機器等能源用途的全部能源。它與「一次能源需求」的分別在於後者包括在能源轉化和傳送過程中所損耗的全部能源。

根據政府的統計資料顯示,在2005至2015年期間,一次能源需求相約,但最終能源需求下跌4.0%。

2005-2015年一次能源需求量和最終能源需求量

2005-2015年一次能源需求量和最終能源需求量

本地的用電量由2005年144,172太焦耳增長至2015年158,274太焦耳,增加9.8%。

煤依然是香港主要的電力來源,於2013年按輸出量計算,約佔57%,其次是21%的天然氣,餘下22%是從內地進口的核電。

發電燃料組合在2013年 (按輸出量計算)

發電燃料組合在2013年 (按輸出量計算)

參考資料: