As a registered electrical worker, your attention is drawn to the following points:

  1. Responsibilities of a Registered Electrical Worker

  2. Validity Period of Certificate

  3. Renewal of Registration

  4. Keeping of Certificate

  5. Inspection, Testing & Certification of Electrical Installations

  6. Monitoring the Performance of Registered Electrical Workers

Annex 1

Enquiries

Electricity Legislation Division, Electrical and Mechanical Services Department, Hong Kong Special Administrative Region Government

Address: 3 Kai Shing Street, Kowloon, Hong Kong
Tel.: 1823 (Hotline)
Fax: 2895 4929
Note: This is NOT a legal document and is prepared for general information only.
  1. Responsibilities of a Registered Electrical Worker

    As a registered electrical worker, you have to comply with the requirements of the Electricity Ordinance and its subsidiary regulations. Below is a list of those major responsibilities of registered electrical workers for you to note and comply with:

    Top

  2. Validity Period of Certificate

    A registration of electrical worker shall be valid for a period of 3 years. The validity period of your registration certificate is from the effective date up to the expiry date shown in your certificate.

    Top

  3. Renewal of Registration

    If you wish to renew your registration after the expiry of your registration validity period, you shall submit to me an application for renewal of registration in a specified form "New/Renewal/Change of Grade of Electrical Work Application for Electrical Worker Registration" (i.e. FORM 8 EMSD/EL/34 (04/2019)) [PDF format (466KB)] together with the relevant supporting documents and the renewal fee. You must submit your renewal application to me at least 1 month before, and no earlier than 4 months before, the expiry date of your registration.

    Note: Renewal application submitted after the expiry date of the original registration will be treated as a new registration application, which will be assessed in accordance with the statutory requirements at the time of receiving such application. If the applicant cannot fulfill the registration requirements at that time (including recognized academic qualifications and electrical work experience), the application would be rejected regardless of the previous registration history of the applicant.

    From 1 January 2012, the Continuing Professional Development (CPD) Scheme for REW will be put into operation. REW applying for registration renewal on or after 1 January 2012 is required to have completed the CPD training before submitting the application to EMSD. For details of the CPD Scheme, please visit our website
    (www.emsd.gov.hk -> Home > Electricity Safety > CPD Scheme for REW)

    Top

  4. Keeping of Certificate

    You shall have your registration certificate with you or available at your workplace while doing electrical work. In case of a loss of your registration certificate, a replacement copy may be issued to you on payment of a fee of HK$340 (subject to review).

    Top

  5. Inspection, Testing & Certification of Electrical Installations

    You shall note the following requirements under the electricity legislation which have become effective from 1 June 1992:

    1. A registered electrical contractor shall, after completing a fixed electrical installation and before the installation is energized for use, have the installation inspected, tested and certified by a registered electrical worker (employed by the contractor) to confirm that the requirements of the Electricity Ordinance have been met. This requirement also applies to any electrical work completed after repair, alteration or addition in an existing electrical installation but only the affected parts of the installation need to be inspected, tested and certified. Certification for the above shall be made on specified forms - "Work Completion Certificate" (i.e. FORM WR1 EMSD/EL/44 (04/2019)) [PDF format (448KB)] or "Work Completion (Part of the Installation) Certificate" (i.e. FORM WR1(A) EMSD/EL/45 (04/2019)) [PDF format (400KB)].

    2. An owner of certain specified types of fixed electrical installations is required to have his installation periodically inspected, tested and certified by a registered electrical worker to confirm that the requirements of the Electricity Ordinance have been met. The frequency for such inspection, test & certification may be at least once every 12 months or at least once every 5 years depending on the type of installation (see section (II) of Annex 2). Certification for the above shall be made on specified forms - "Periodic Test Certificate" Update (i.e. FORM WR2 EMSD/EL/46 (04/2019)) [PDF format (654KB)] or Periodic Test Certificate (Part of the Installation)" (i.e. FORM WR2(A) EMSD/EL/47 (04/2019)) [PDF format (385KB)].

    A more detailed description of the above two requirements is given in Annex 1.

    Top

  6. Monitoring the Performance of Registered Electrical Workers

    6.1 The Electrical and Mechanical Services Department (EMSD) is responsible for monitoring the performance of registered electrical workers (REW) to ensure that the electrical work undertaken by them is in compliance with the requirements of the Electricity Ordinance (Cap. 406) and its subsidiary regulations, in particular the Electricity (Wiring) Regulations.
    6.2 If REW are found to have neglected their statutory duties when carrying out electrical work without ensuring the compliance of fixed electrical installations with the requirements of the Electricity Ordinance (Cap. 406) and the Electricity (Wiring) Regulations, EMSD will conduct investigation into the case.
    6.3 If there is evidence showing that the REW concerned has violated the relevant requirements of the Ordinance, EMSD will, subject to the available evidence, take disciplinary action or initiate prosecution against the REW.

    Top

Important Note to Registered Electrical Workers:

A registered electrical worker should NOT sign certificates for tests and inspections unless he has carried out or supervised the tests and inspections on site, and is satisfied with the results of the tests and inspections. Any registered electrical workers not following this practice is deemed to have violated the good workmanship required under the Electricity (Wiring) Regulations and may be subject to disciplinary actions under the Electricity Ordinance.

 

Annex 1

Requirements of Inspection, Testing and Certification of Fixed Electrical Installations under the Electricity (Wiring) Regulations

(I)   First inspection, testing and certification of fixed electrical installations

  1. A registered electrical contractor shall, after completing electrical work on a fixed electrical installation and before the installation is energized for use, have the installation inspected, tested and certified by a registered electrical worker (employed by the contractor) to confirm that the requirements of Electricity Ordinance have been met. This requirement also applies to any electrical work completed on an existing electrical installation (e.g. repair, alteration or addition) but only the affected parts of the installation need to be inspected, tested and certified.

  2. Certification for the above shall be made on a specified form - the "Work Completion Certificate" (i.e. Form WR 1). Every Work Completion Certificate shall be signed by the registered electrical worker(s) who is/are responsible for doing the work. The certificate shall also be endorsed by the corresponding registered electrical contractor(s). After signing the various parts of the certificate, the registered electrical contractor shall then issue the certificate to the owner of the electrical installation. For electrical installations that required inspection/testing by the electricity supply company before use (e.g. new electrical installation), it is recommended that a copy of the certificate may be copied to the supple company concerned.

  3. For a large fixed electrical installation which is divided into more than one part, the individual parts can be inspected, tested and certified by different registered electrical worker. In such case, for simplicity, a single "Work Completion Certificate" (i.e. Form WR 1) may be issued by one main registered electrical worker provided that he has received valid "Work Completion (Part of an Installation) Certificate(s)" (i.e. Form WR 1(A)) from other registered electrical workers for the individual parts. (Note: the main registered electrical worker does not need to personally inspect and test all the individual parts himself).

Top Annex 1

(II)   Periodic inspection, testing and certification of fixed electrical installations

  1. Fixed electrical installations that require to be inspected, tested and certified at least once EVERY YEAR

    An owner of a fixed electrical installation located in one of the following type of premises shall have the installation inspected, tested and certified at least once every year with effect from 1 June 1992:

    (a)   Places of public entertainment

    Fixed electrical installations in places of public entertainment (as defined in the Places of Public Entertainment Ordinance (Cap. 172)) other than a sea-going vessel shall be inspected, tested and certified at least once every year. Typical examples of places of public entertainment are places, buildings or structures (temporary or permanent) for dramatic or theatrical entertainment, cinematography display, lecture, exhibition, acrobatic performance, sporting exhibition or amusement rides etc.

    (b)   Premises for the manufacturing or storing of dangerous goods

    Fixed electrical installation in premises for the manufacturing or storing of dangerous goods (classified under categories of the Dangerous Goods (Application and Exemption) Regulations (Cap. 295), previously known as the Dangerous Goods (Classification) Regulations) shall be inspected, tested and certified at least once every year. Examples of the above are dangerous goods stores, dangerous goods storage tanks, gas stations, petroleum and diesel filling stations and liquidfied petroleum gas stations etc.

    (c)   High voltage fixed electrical installations

    Owners of premises having high voltage fixed installations that are fed directly from a high voltage supply are required to have their high voltage fixed electrical installations inspected, tested and certified at least once every year. Example of such installations are high voltage switchrooms and substations of a large commercial complex.

  2. Fixed electrical installations that require to be inspected, tested and certified at least once EVERY FIVE YEARS

    Except already included in paragraph (1) above, an owner of the following type of fixed electrical installation shall have the installation inspected, tested and certified at least once every 5 years with effect from 1 June 1992:

    1. Fixed electrical installations in factories and industrial undertakings having an approved loading exceeding 200 amperes, single or three phase at nominal low voltage are required to be inspected, tested and certified at least once every five years.

    2. Fixed electrical installations except as mentioned in subparagraph (a) above having an approved loading exceeding 100 amperes single or three phase at nominal low voltage are required to be inspected, tested and certified at least once every five years. Examples of such installations are power supply to lifts, water pumps, public lightings and other communal services in the common area of domestic premises and fixed installations in offices etc. having total loading exceeding 100 amperes, single or three phase.

    3. Low voltage fixed electrical installations located in one of the following type of premises are required to be inspected, tested and certified at least once every 5 years:

      1. hotel or guest house;
      2. hospital or maternity home;
      3. school;
      4. premises of the institutions listed in section 2 of the Education Ordinance (Cap. 279) including technical institutions and universities;
      5. child care center; and
      6. premises that the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services may, by notice posted to or served on the owner, specify that he considers could cause great harm in the event of an electrical accident.
  3. Certification for the above shall be made on a specified form - the "Periodic Test Certificate" (i.e. Form WR 2). Every Periodic Test Certificate shall be signed by the registered electrical worker who is responsible for carrying out the inspection and testing. The certificate shall also be endorsed by the responsible registered electrical contractor. After signing the various parts of the certificate, the responsible registered electrical contractor shall then issue the certificate to the owner of the electrical installation. The owner shall then deliver the certificate to the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services for endorsement within 2 weeks after the date of the certificate. The owner shall also submit an endorsement fee of $695 (subject to review) for each certificate delivered to the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services.

  4. For a large fixed electrical installation which is divided into more than one part, the individual parts can be inspected, tested and certified by different registered electrical worker. In such case, for simplicity, a single "Periodic Test Certificate" (i.e. Form WR2) may be issued by one main registered electrical worker provided that he has received valid "Periodic Test (Part of an Installation) Certificate(s) (i.e. Form WR2(A)) from other registered electrical workers for the individual parts. (Note: the main registered electrical worker does not need to personally inspect and test all the individual parts himself).

Top Annex 1

(III)   Important points to be noted by registered electrical workers & contractors

For inspection, testing and certification of fixed electrical installations, the responsible registered electrical workers & contractors shall comply with the followings:

  1. Tests on a fixed electrical installation shall be carried out with proper tools and testing equipment and in accordance with accepted practices so that no danger to persons or property can occur even if the circuit being tested is defective.

  2. Results of tests and inspections shall be recorded, dated and certified by the registered electrical worker who carried out the tests and inspections. The registered electrical contractor shall keep all records of the test and inspection results and issue a copy of the records to the owner of the electrical installation.

  3. The tests and inspections covered shall be carried out within a reasonable time, normally not exceeding one month, before the date of certification.

Top

作为注册电业工程人员,你必须留意下列各事项:

  1. 注册电业工程人员的责任

  2. 证明书有效期

  3. 注册续期

  4. 备存证明书

  5. 电力装置的检查、测试及发出证明书

  6. 监察注册电业工程人员的工作表现

附件 1

查询

香港特别行政区政府机电工程署电力法例部

地址: 香港九龙启成街 3 号
电话: 1823 (热线)
传真: 2895 4929
注: 本资料文件并非法律文件,只供参考之用。
  1. 注册电业工程人员的责任

    作为注册电业工程人员,你须遵守《电力条例》及其附属规例的各项规定。注册电业工程人员的主要责任如下,敬请细阅并加以遵守:

    页首

  2. 证明书有效期

    电业工程人员的注册有效期为 3 年。你的注册证明书上已列明证明书的生效及届满日期。

    页首

  3. 注册续期

    如你希望在注册期届满时将注册续期,你应填妥指定的「新申请注册为电业工程人员/ 注册电业工程人员续期/ 更改电力工程级别申请表格」(即表格八 EMSD/EL/34 (04/2019) ) [PDF 格式 (466KB)],并连同有关证明文件及续期费用 475 元(此款额可被调整)一并交给本人。你必须在注册届满日期计最少 1 个月前将续期申请递交本人,但不得早于该日期的 4 个月前。

    请注意:于注册期满日期后递交的续期申请将会当作新注册申请处理,并以接获申请当天的法定注册要求重新审核,申请人如未能符合当时的注册要求(包括必须具有相关认可学历及电力工作经验资格),不论申请人以往有否成功注册,该申请均可被拒绝。

    由 2012 年 1 月 1 日起,注册电业工程人员持续进修计划将会实施。由当天起,所有注册电业工程人员在递交注册续期申请前,须完成持续进修训练。有关持续进修计划的详情,请浏览本署网页( www.emsd.gov.hk -> 主页 > 电力安全 > 注册电业工程人员持续进修计划)。

    页首

  4. 备存证明书

    你在从事电力工作时须随身携备注册证明书,或在工作地点备有该证明书。注册证明书倘有遗失,本署可补发一份给你,费用为 340 元(此款额可被调整)。

    页首

  5. 电力装置的检查、测试及发出证明书

    你须留意电力法例下的下列各项规定,这些规定由 1992 年 6 月 1 日起生效:

    1. 注册电业承办商须在固定电力装置完成后,并在通电以供使用前,交由注册电业工程人员(由承办商雇用)进行检查、测试及发出证明书,以确认该装置符合电力条例的各项规定。此项规定亦适用于对现有电力装置所进行的任何修理、改装及增设电力工作,然而只须对受影响的部分加以检查、测试及发出证明书。上述的证明书须采用指定的表格「完工证明书」(即表格 WR1 EMSD/EL/44 (04/2019) ) [PDF 格式 (448KB)] 或「完工(部分装置)证明书」(即表格 WR1(A) EMSD/EL/45 (04/2019) ) [PDF 格式 (400KB)] 。

    2. 某些特定类别固定电力装置的拥有人,须安排该等装置定期由注册电业工程人员检查、测试及发出证明书,以确认装置符合《电力条例》的各项规定。这类检查、测试及发出证明书应最少每12个月进行一次,或最少每5年进行一次,视乎电力装置的类别而定(见附件 1 (II) 部)。上述的证明书须采用指定的表格「定期测试证明书更新 (即表格 WR2 EMSD/EL/46 (04/2019) ) [PDF 格式 (654KB)] 或 「定期测试(部分装置)证明书」(即表格 WR2(A) EMSD/EL/47 (04/2019) ) [PDF 格式 (385KB)] 。

    上述两项规定的详情已随附于附件 1

    页首

  6. 监察注册电业工程人员的工作表现

    6.1 机电工程署(机电署)负责监察注册电业工程人员的表现,以确保他们所进行的电力工程符合《电力条例》(第 406 章)及其附属规例(特别是《电力(线路)规例》)的规定。
    6.2 如发现注册电业工程人员在进行电力工程时忽视其法定职责,没有确保固定电力装置符合《电力条例》(第 406 章)及《电力(线路)规例》的规定,机电署会就有关个案进行调查。
    6.3 如有证据显示该注册电业工程人员违反有关规定,机电署会视乎所得的证据,对该注册电业工程人员进行纪律处分或提出检控。

    页首

注册电业工程人员请特别注意:

注册电业工程人员除非曾进行或实地监察测试和检查工作,并对测试和检查结果感到满意,否则不应签署及发出证明书。任何注册电业工程人员不遵从是项守则,将被视作已违反《电力(线路)规例》有关良好工艺的规定,机电工程署署长可根据电力条例施以纪律处分。

 

附件 1

根据电力(线路)规例对固定电力装置进行检查、测试及发出证明书的规定

(I)   固定电力装置的首次检查、测试及发出证明书

  1. 注册电业承办商须在完成固定电力装置的电力工作后,并在该装置通电以供使用前,安排由注册电业工程人员(由承办商雇用)进行检查、测试及发出证明书,以确认该装置符合《电力条例》的各项规定。此项规定亦适用于对现有电力装置所完成的电力工作(例如:修理、改装或增设),然而只须对受影响部分加以检查、测试及发出证明书。

  2. 上述的证明书须采用指定的表格-「完工证明书」(即表格WR1)。每份完工证明书须由负责进行有关工作的注册电业工程人员签署。此外,各有关的注册电业承办商亦须在证明书上加签。在签妥证明书的各部分后,注册电业承办商便可将证明书发给电力装置的拥有人。如电力装置在使用前须由电力公司进行检查/测试(例如:新安装的电力装置),则建议将上述证明书的副本送交有关的电力公司。

  3. 大型的固定电力装置如果分为一个部分以上,可由不同的注册电业工程人员对个别的部分进行检查、测试及发出证明书。在此情况下,可由一名主要的注册电业工程人员,在收到其他注册电业工程人员就个别部分所发出的有效「完工(部分装置)证明书」(即表格 WR1(A) )后,发出单一份「完工证明书」(即表格 WR1 ),以便简化程序。(备注:该名主要注册电业工程人员,不必亲自检查及测试有关装置的每一部分。)

附件 1 页首

(II)   固定电力装置的定期检查、测试及发出证明书

  1. 须每年最少作一次检查、测试及领取证明书的固定电力装置

    由 1992 年 6 月 1 日起,设于以下任何一类房产内的固定电力装置的拥有人,须安排该装置每年最少作一次检查、测试及领取证明书:

    (a)   公众娱乐场所

    《公众娱乐场所条例》(香港法例第 172 章)所界定的公众娱乐场所内的固定电力装置,须每年最少作一次检查、测试及领取证明书,但出海船只则不在此限。公众娱乐场所的典型例子:供戏剧或舞台演出、播放电影、演说、展览、杂技表演、体育项目表演或机动游戏设施等用途的地方、建筑物或搭建物(临时或永久性)。

    (b)   制造或贮存危险品的房产

    《危险品(适用及豁免)规例》(香港法例第 295 章)〔前称《危险品(类别)规例》〕所列各类制造或贮存危险品的房产内的固定电力装置,须每年最少作一次检查、测试及领取证明书。这类房产包括危险品仓库、危险品储缸、气体灌注站、汽油及柴油加油站、石油气灌注站等。

    (c)   高压固定电力装置

    房产如设有由高压电源直接供电的高压固定电力装置,则该房产的拥有人须安排该高压固定电力装置每年最少作一次检查、测试及领取证明书。这类装置的例子:大型商场内的高压开关房及电力分站。

  2. 须每 5 年最少作一次检查、测试及领取证明书的固定电力装置

    除了已纳入上文第 (1) 段的装置外,由 1992 年 6 月 1 日起,下列类别固定电力装置的拥有人,须安排该装置每 5 年最少作一次检查、测试及领取证明书:

    1. 工厂及工业经营场地内的固定电力装置,当该装置的额定电压为低压,而允许负载量为超逾 200 安培(单相或三相)时,须每 5 年最少作一次检查、测试及领取证明书。

    2. 除上文 (a) 节所指者外,当固定电力装置的额定电压为低压,而允许负载量为超逾 100 安培(单相或三相)时,该装置须每5年最少作一次检查、测试及领取证明书。这类装置包括住宅楼宇内升降机、水泵、公共照明及其他公用设施的供电装置,办公室内的固定装置等,其总负载量超逾100安培(单相或三相)。

    3. 设于以下任何一类房产内的低压固定电力装置,须每 5 年最少作一次检查、测试及领取证明书:

      1. 酒店或宾馆;
      2. 医院或留产院;
      3. 学校;
      4. 教育条例(香港法例第 279 章)第 2 条所列院校的房产,包恬工业学院和大学;
      5. 幼儿中心;及
      6. 机电工程署署长认为在发生电力意外时会引致严重灾害的房产,署长可将通知书邮寄或遣专人送达该房产的拥有人,以指明该房产。
  3. 上述的证明书须采用指定的表格 –「定期测试证明书」(即表格 WR2 )。每份定期测试证明书须由负责进行检查及测试的注册电业工程人员签署。此外,负责的注册电业承办商亦须在证明书上加签。在签妥证明书的各部分后,注册电业承办商便可将证明书发给电力装置的拥有人。拥有人须将证明书在发出日期起计 2 星期内呈交机电工程署署长加签。该拥有人将证明书呈交机电工程署署长时,须一并缴交加签费,每份证明书 695 元(此款额可被调整)。

  4. 大型的固定电力装置如果分为一个部分以上,可由不同的注册电业工程人员对个别的部分进行检查、测试及发出证明书。在此情况下,可由一名主要的注册电业工程人员,在收到其他注册电业工程人员就个别部分所发出的有效「定期测试(部分装置)证明书」(即表格 WR2(A) 后,发出单一份「定期测试证明书」)(即表格 WR2 ),以便简化程序。(备注:该名主要注册电业工程人员,不必亲自检查及测试有关装置的每一部分。)

附件 1 页首

(III)   注册电业工程人员及承办商须注意的要点

在检查、测试及发出证明书时,负责的注册电业工程人员及承办商须遵守下列各点:

  1. 测试固定电力装置,必须以适当工具及测试器具进行,并须依照已为人接受的惯例进行,使在测试中的电路即使有故障,亦不会对任何人或财产造成危险。

  2. 进行测试及检查的注册电业工程人员须将其测试及检查结果纪录、注明日期及予以核证。注册电业承办商须保存所有有关测试及检查结果的纪录,并将该份纪录的副本发给电力装置的拥有人。

  3. 有关的测试及检查须于合理期间内进行,通常以不超过发出证明书的日期前1个月为限。

页首