Witty Bear is ready, click to connect KnowBot Chatbot
Skip to main content
 


About Mandatory Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme

Significant energy saving could be achieved by using more energy efficient appliances which helps reduce the emission of greenhouse gases and other air pollutants from power plants. To further facilitate the public in choosing energy efficient appliances and raise public awareness on energy saving, the Government has introduced the Mandatory Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme (MEELS) through the Energy Efficiency (Labelling of Products) Ordinance, Cap. 598, (hereinafter cited as the “Ordinance”). Under MEELS, energy labels are required to be shown on the prescribed products for supply in Hong Kong, China, to inform consumers of their energy efficiency performance.


Implementation of MEELS

Similar to most of the overseas mandatory energy efficiency labelling schemes, the MEELS in Hong Kong requires manufacturers or importers of the prescribed products to conduct tests in accredited testing laboratories. The testing laboratories include accredited laboratory under the Hong Kong Laboratory Accreditation Scheme (“HOKLAS”) or under an accreditation scheme operated by a laboratory accreditation body in other economies with which HOKLAS has concluded a mutual recognition arrangement. The tests must be carried out in accordance with the Code of Practice on Energy Labelling of Products (“CoP”) issued by the Director of Electrical and Mechanical Services (“DEMS”) under the Ordinance.

If DEMS is satisfied with the information submitted including the test results, he will notify the manufacturers or importers of the reference number assigned to the product model concerned. Manufacturers or importers are required to attach energy labels in the prescribed format specified in the Ordinance before supplying these products in Hong Kong. All local suppliers (including wholesalers and retailers) cannot supply any specified product which has not been assigned a reference number and does not bear the energy labels.


Upgrading grading standards

The MEELS has been implementing in phases. The initial phase of MEELS, covering three types of products, namely room air conditioners, refrigerating appliances and compact fluorescent lamps (CFLs), has been fully implemented since 9 November 2009. The second phase of MEELS, extending the coverage to two more electrical products, namely washing machines and dehumidifiers, has been fully implemented since 19 September 2011. The third phase of MEELS further extends the coverage to three additional types of electrical products, namely televisions, storage type electric water heaters and induction cookers, and expands the scope of room air conditioners and washing machines. The third phase has been fully implemented since 1 December 2019.

All these eight prescribed products for supply in Hong Kong are required to be listed models with reference numbers and bear energy labels. The energy label classifies the energy performance of a product type into five grades. A product with Grade 1 energy label is among the most energy efficient in the market while a product of Grade 5 is least efficient. To allow consumers have more choices, the number of energy efficient products in the market keeps increasing since the full implementation of MEELS in 2009.

To further encourage suppliers to provide more energy efficient products for consumers, energy efficiency grading requirements of single package type room air conditioners, dehumidifiers and compact fluorescent lamps (CFLs) will be tightened, which takes effect on 31 December 2020 and will be fully implemented on 31 December 2021. Energy labels with new grading standard shall be affixed to all three kinds of prescribed products.

Distinguish labels with different grading standards

Under the new grading standard, the information of energy label is different from that under the existing grading standard. Learn more about how to distinguish the labels with different grading standards.

Comparison of existing and new grading standards

Under the new grading standard, the energy efficiency grading requirements of three products are relatively tightened substantially increased to help users choose higher energy efficient products. Learn more about the comparison of the grading under existing and new grading standards.



Other Information

Code of Practice
A Code of Practice on Energy Labelling of Products (hereinafter cited as the "Code") provides practical guidance and technical details about the energy efficiency labelling for the prescribed products. It specifies the relevant test standards, calculation methods and determination of energy efficiency grading levels of prescribed products, in accordance with which the energy efficiency performance of the product models are tested and assessed.


Submission of Product Information (How to Apply)
Prior to supplying a prescribed product in Hong Kong, an importer or local manufacturer shall submit the product information, including test report of the product model, to EMSD for assignment of reference number.


Record of Listed Models
The record of listed models contains all product models which have been assigned with reference numbers by EMSD that are still valid.


Models with Reference Numbers Removed
If the reference number of a listed model is removed from the record of listed models, the model concerned will not be allowed to be supplied in Hong Kong.


Compliance Monitoring Testing on Energy Performance
The EMSD regularly selects samples of listed models for compliance monitoring testing on energy performance by independent accredited laboratories to check that the products conform with the energy efficiency information submitted to EMSD. If a listed model is found not conforming with the information submitted to EMSD, its reference number will be removed from the record of listed models and the model will not be allowed to be supplied in Hong Kong.


Publications
A number of posters, pamphlets and circulars in respect of the MEELS have been published for the trade and the public.


TV Announcement
In order to promote the MEELS, a TV API (Announcement of Public Interest) has been produced.


News & Event

The Voluntary Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme (VEELS)

Apart from MEELS which covers eight types of products (click here for the coverage of each type of product), EMSD has also introduced a Voluntary Energy Efficiency Labelling Scheme (VEELS). The scheme now covers 22 types of household appliances and office equipment.


Household Electrical Products with Certificates of Safety Compliance

The EMSD initiated a voluntary scheme for registration of certificates of safety compliance. The list under the scheme contains models of household electrical products having been issued with relevant certificates of safety compliance as required under the Electrical Products (Safety) Regulation.


Enquiries
For enquiries about the MEELS, please contact:

Energy Efficiency Office
Telephone : 2808 3465 or 1823
Fax : 2890 6081
Email : eepublic@emsd.gov.hk
Address : Energy Efficiency Office
Electrical and Mechanical Services Department
3 Kai Shing Street, Kowloon, Hong Kong

机智啤啤准备好了,点击连接智析宝宝聊天机器人
跳至主要內容
 


关于强制性能源效益标签计划

使用更多具能源效益的器具可节省大量能源,并可减少发电厂排放温室气体及其他空气污染物。为进一步方便市民挑选具能源效益的器具及提升市民对节约能源的意识,政府现正透过《能源效益(产品标签)条例》(第598章)(「条例」)推行强制性能源效益标签计划(强制性标签计划)。根据强制性标签计划,在中国香港供应的订明产品须贴上能源标签,让消费者知悉有关产品的能源效益表现。

实施强制性标签计划

本港的强制性标签计划与外地大多数强制性能源效益标签计划的做法相似,要求订明产品的制造商或进口商安排在认可测试实验所进行测试。这些测试实验所包括香港实验所认可计划下的认可实验所或其他与香港实施的认可计划有互认安排的经济体系的实验所审定团体认可的实验所,而有关测试亦须按照由机电工程署(机电署)署长根据《条例》规定发出的《产品能源标签实务守则》(《实务守则》)进行。

若机电署署长信纳所呈交的资料(包括测试结果),便会通知制造商或进口商有关产品型号所获编配的参考编号。制造商或进口商必须在产品贴上《条例》所订明的指定格式能源标签,才可在本港供应产品。本港所有供应商(包括批发商及零售商)不得供应没有参考编号及能源标签的订明产品。

评级标准提升

强制性标签计划分阶段推行。强制性标签计划首阶段涵盖三类产品,即空调机、冷冻器具和紧凑型荧光灯(省电灯泡),由2009年11月9日起全面实施。强制性标签计划第二阶段把涵盖范围扩大至另外两类电气产品,即洗衣机和抽湿器,亦由2011年9月19日起全面实施。强制性标签计划第三阶段的涵盖范围再扩展至另外三类电气产品,即电视机、储水式电热水器和电磁炉,并把空调机和洗衣机的涵盖范围扩大。第三阶段已由2019年12月1日起全面实施。

上述八类在本港供应的所有订明产品必须是已获编配参考编号并附有能源标签的表列型号。能源标签把同一类产品的能源效益分为五级,第一级表示能源效益最高,第五级则表示能源效益最低。强制性标签计划自推出后,市场上具能源效益的产品型号不断增加,令消费者有更多选择。

为进一步鼓励供应商引进高能效的产品让消费者挑选,独立式空调机、抽湿器和省电灯泡的能源效益级别标准将进一步提升,新标准会于2020年12月31日生效,并由2021年12月31日起全面实施。届时所有进口商供应的上述三类订明产品须贴有新能源效益级别标准的标签。

识别现有及新标准下的标签

现有及新评级标准下的标签资料会有所不同。了解如何识别两个标准下的标签

现有及新评级标准的比较

新评级标准下,三类产品的能源效益评级标准会相对提高,让用户挑选更具能源效益的产品。了解现有及新标准下的评级之间的比较


其他资料

实务守则

「产品能源标签实务守则」(「守则」)就订明产品上的能源标签提供实务指引及技术细则。「守则」上列明订明产品的相关测试标准、计算方法及能源效益评级,而产品型号的能源效益表现会依据上述项目进行测试和评核。

呈交产品资料(怎样申请)

进口商或本地制造商必须先向机电工程署呈交产品资料,包括产品型号的测试报告,并获编配参考编号,才可把订明产品供应给本港市场。

表列型号纪录册

表列型号纪录册载有获机电工程署编配参考编号的产品型号清单,而该等参考编号仍然有效。

已被删除参考编号的型号

如某一表列型号的参考编号已从表列型号纪录册上删除,有关产品型号将不得在本港供应。

能源表现监察测试

机电工程署定期挑选表列型号的样本,交由独立的认可实验所进行能源表现监察测试,以查核有关产品的能源表现是否符合呈交予机电工程署的能源效益资料。如发现有关的表列型号不符合呈交予机电工程署的资料,则其参考编号会从表列型号纪录册上删除,而该型号将不得在本港供应。

刊物

机电工程署已为业界及公众印制一系列有关强制性标签计划的海报、小册子及通告。

电视宣传片

为进一步推广强制性标签计划,机电工程署制作了有关的电视宣传片。


最新消息及活动

自愿性能源效益标签计划

除了涵盖八类电气产品(按此可参阅各产品的涵盖范围)的强制性标签计划外,机电工程署亦推出了自愿性能源效益标签计划。该计划现涵盖22种家用器具及办公室器材。


附有符合安全规格证明书的家用电气产品

机电工程署推出了一项有关符合电气产品安全规格的自愿参与注册计划。该计划下的名单载列已按照《电气产品(安全)规例》,获发符合安全规格证明书的家用电气产品型号。

 

查询

如对强制性标签计划有任何查询,请与能源效益事务处联络:

电话 28083465/1823
传真 28906081
电邮 eepublic@emsd.gov.hk
地址 香港九龙啓成街3号机电工程署能源效益事务处